expand external facebook googleplus instagram menu play search twitter youtube

Faculty Senate

2017/2018 Executive Committee Information 

All full-time faculty of the University shall be Members of the Faculty Senate. Full-time faculty include all individuals with a contract for full-time teaching regardless of whether that individual has release time for administrative duties, research, or for other reasons. Department chairpersons shall be Members.

Each member shall have one vote. All voting is by simple majority except where otherwise noted in these by-laws. Voting shall ordinarily be conducted by voice or a show of hands. Annual voting for Executive Committee members shall be conducted by a three-person ad hoc committee appointed by the University Registrar comprised on non-members.

Executive Committee
The Members shall once annually in the spring elect an Executive Committee of five persons comprising a Chairperson, Vice Chairperson, Secretary, Parliamentarian, and additional Member. All must be Members and at least one of the individuals on the Executive Committee shall hold the rank of full or associate professor. Department chairpersons may serve on the Executive Committee, however no more than one department chairperson may serve on the Executive Committee at one time.

Voting Procedure
Executive Committee members are elected by the Members during the Spring general assembly meeting by secret ballot. In the event of a tie, the current Chairperson of the Executive Committee shall cast the deciding vote and, in the absence of the Chairperson, the Vice Chairperson shall cast the deciding vote.

Candidates may be nominated by a Member. Members may also self-nominate. Newly elected Executive Committee members shall take office as soon as they are elected. Should any officer refuse or fail to serve, the Executive Committee shall hold an election to select a replacement as soon as feasible.

Term of Executive Committee Members
Members on the Executive Committee serve a maximum two one-year terms. Terms do not have to be contiguous. A member of the Executive Committee who goes on leave for a semester or who is terminated from employment with the University shall be considered resigned. Executive Committee members may serve no more than two terms.

Duties of the Chairperson
The Chairperson shall chair Executive Committee meetings and Faculty Senate general assemblies in accordance with these by-laws. The Chairperson shall serve as the representative of the Faculty Senate.

Duties of the Vice Chairperson
The Vice Chairperson shall perform the duties of the Chairperson when the Chairperson is unable to conduct his or her duties. The Vice Chairperson assists the Chairperson in the conduct of his or her duties.

Duties of the Secretary
The Secretary shall take the minutes of all Executive Committee and Faculty Senate general assembly meetings and present them to the Chairperson for distribution. The Secretary shall keep all records of the Executive Committee and Faculty Senate, including minutes, votes, and election results.

Duties of the Parliamentarian
The Parliamentarian shall be responsible for ensuring that the Senate follows appropriate protocol and procedures as required by these by-laws.

Faculty Eligible for positions in the coming academic year (2017/2018):
Aissa Boudjella
Ala Abdulhakim Abdulaziz
Albert Wolf
Angela Miller
Boris Abbey
Christine Murray
Christopher Henderson
Colleen Foster
Jesus Pascal
Jimbo H. Claver
John Wall
Nezamuddin Abdullah
Omar Joya
Rod Monger
Sarath Dasanayaka
Sujatha Chandarlapaty
Tat Puthsodary
Volodymyr Pihenko
Walter Rudolph
Zaher Wahab



2016/2017 Faculty Senate:

Dear AUAF faculty,

We are happy to announce this year’s AUAF Faculty Executive Committee members for 2016/2017:

Dr Bahar Jalali – Chairperson

Chris Henderson – Vice Chairperson

Ali Reza Yunespour – Secretary

Dr Ala Abdulhakim Abdulaziz – Parliamentarian

Dr Jimbo Claver – Additional Member

Meetings take place throughout the spring 2017 semester.



Executive Committee

Bahar Jalali—Chairperson

Chris Henderson—Vice Chairperson

Ali Reza Yunespour--Secretary

Ala Abdulhakim Abdulaziz—Parliamentarian

Jimbo Claver—Additional Member

Curriculum Committee

Ali Reza Yunespur

John Wall

Jesus Pascal

Nezamuddin Abdullah

Ala Abdulhakim Abdulaziz 

Quality of Teaching

Zaher Wahab

Christine Murray

 Bruce Josephson

Chris Henderson

2 additional ad-hoc faculty as needed

Faculty Recruitment

David Sedney, Ex Officio

Jesus Pascal

Angela Miller

Waheed Noori

Rod Monger

Ghizal Haress

Library Committee

Albert Wolf

John Wall

3 other faculty

Student Enrollment

Colleen Foster

Jimbo Claver

3 additional ad-hoc faculty as needed

Professional Development

Puthsodary Tat

Shoaib Timory

Volodymyr Pihenko

Sujatha Chanderlapaty

Aissa Boudjella


2017 Spring meetings:

05/April Meeting Wednesday April 5, 2017 from 12:30pm-1:30pm to decide sub committee members

19/April Report from each standing committee chair since the last meeting of the Faculty  Senate which took place on April 5, 2017.

16/May Academic calendar review

12/June Meeting with new AUAF President Kenneth Holland. He has arrived and joined our community. Meeting will be held in the Auditorium from 11:30 a.m. - 12:30 p.m.

14/June Faculty Senate general assembly meeting from 12:30pm-1:30pm in room 114 of the Women's Center. The main agenda item will consist of voting on work done by the curriculum committee.